学校合作项目

常见问题

以下是学生及家长在准备旅行期间的常见问题及解答。如果您有其他的问题,请随时发邮件给我们咨询(电子信箱: international@clemson.edu).

学校合作项目什么时候举行?

美国学年基本从每年8月开始,来年5月或者6月结束。大多数寄宿家庭愿意在1月到3月之间接收学生。

学生需要考试或者做作业吗?

鉴于访问学生的身份,参加项目的国际学生不需要取得课业成绩来完成项目。但是为了更好地参与课堂讨论,最大化利用短暂的项目时间,我们鼓励每个学生跟美国当地学生一样做作业并参加课堂小测试等学术活动。

我可以选择要上的课程吗?

学生大部分时间将学习必修科目,比如数学,科学,英语,计算机科学,以及社会学。作为访问学生,如果您有其他特别感兴趣的课程,您可以告诉美国学校项目管理人员,校方会在允许的范围内尽最大努力满足您的愿望。

申请项目时我需要提供任何成绩单吗?

不需要。但是我们强烈建议参加该项目的学生具备中等熟练程度及以上的英语水平。英语处于初级水平的学生很难适应课堂学习或者参加其他活动。

我到机场后怎样去寄宿家庭?

克莱姆森大学工作人员, 美国合作学校代表,寄宿家庭成员,三者中任何一个或者多个将会在机场等候接机,然后将您安全送至寄宿家庭。

签证和其他相关文件难申请吗?

你的美国接待学校会给您的中国学校提供申请签证等文件所需的邀请函,保证您顺利参加本项目。

美国学校对穿着有特别的要求吗?

有些学校会有特别的穿着要求, 但大多数学校都比较随意,您可以穿中国学校的校服或者其他舒适休闲的衣服上学。一般情况下,穿合身或者舒适的衣服就可以。美国的接待学校如果对穿着有特殊要求,那么会与您国内的学校提前沟通 。

我需要带常用药品吗?

您的寄宿家庭和美国接待学校医疗人员会为您提供基本的非处方药,比如止疼药。他们还会备有处理轻伤的急救用品。如果您需要服用处方药,请随身携带到美国,并告知您的寄宿家庭处方药信息以及服用方法。

我在哪里吃饭?

您与寄宿家庭共进早餐和晚餐,在学校享用午饭。在外参观期间,您会在当地饭店就餐。所有就餐费用已经包含在项目费用内。

我该飞抵哪个终点机场?

由于我们大部分的合作院校在南卡州的北部, 所以我们推荐您抵达Greenville-Spartanburg 国际机场 (机场代码:GSP)。 如果您的合作院校在其他地区,您可以考虑其他机场。请您在预定机票前务必与青少年教育学院国际联络处的工作人员商讨核实,共同决定最佳机场及航班信息。在您购买机票后请将您的电子客票行程发一份给我们 (电子信箱:international@clemson.edu)。

我生病了或者受伤了该怎么办?

您的项目费用包含医疗保险。如果有需要,您的寄宿家庭会带您到合适的诊所或者医院。另外,您接待学校的医疗人员也可以处理非紧急的医疗状况。

南卡州的天气怎么样?

南卡州不同地区天气差异较大。总体来说,这里冬天天气比较温和,平均最高气温在11到17摄氏度之间,夏天比较潮湿闷热,平均最高气温在30到35摄氏度之间。 南卡北部地区因春天温暖的天气和五颜六色的花丛而闻名,而南部地区的特色是棕榈树及阳光海岸和沙滩 。

项目什么时候结束?

大部分学校合作项目在最后一周的周五结束,那天晚上会有很多活动,要跟朋友们告别。大部分学生会在周六上午启程回国 。详细行程将由美方学校安排提供。

我会从这个项目获得一个成绩单或者结业证书吗?

由于该项目没有学分,所以不予提供成绩单。但是,所有顺利完成项目的学生会在项目结束后获得结业证书。

会有无线网络连接吗?

是的!整个项目期间,都有无线网络连接供学生联系家人,完成学校作业。

School Partners

Frequently Asked Questions

Parents and students often have questions during trip-planning. We have answered many of them here. If you have other questions, please email international@clemson.edu.

WHEN IS THE SCHOOL PARTNERS PROGRAM OFFERED?

The academic year in the US generally starts in August and ends in May or June. Most of our US partner schools host visiting students between January and March.

ARE THERE GRADES OR HOMEWORK?

Since you are considered a visiting student, no grades will be assigned. However, in order to better understand the material discussed in class and maximize the benefit of your time in school, you are encouraged to complete homework assignments and take quizzes and tests like the other students.

DO I GET TO CHOOSE MY CLASSES?

The majority of your time will be spent in required classes such as math, science, English, computer science, and social studies. However, visiting students will have an opportunity to express their interests and host school administrators will do their best to match your interests to available electives.

DO I NEED TO SEND TEST SCORES TO BE ADMITTED TO THE PROGRAM?

You do not need to send test scores to participate in the program. However, your English language skills should be at an intermediate level or higher. Beginning language learners will struggle in classes and other situations.

HOW WILL I GET FROM THE AIRPORT TO MY HOST FAMILY’S HOME?

Students will be met at the airport by members of the Clemson University staff, partner school representatives, host families, or a combination of the three.

IS IT HARD TO SECURE A VISA OR OTHER DOCUMENTATION?

Your host school will provide your school with an invitation letter that can be used to secure the documentation needed to participate in this program.

IS THERE A DRESS CODE AT MY HOST SCHOOL?

Some schools have dress codes but most often you will be free to wear your school uniform or other comfortable clothing. Generally, it will be appropriate to wear clothes that are modest and comfortable. Your host school will communicate information to your school about any specific expectations.

SHOULD I BRING MEDICATION?

Your host family and the school health staff can supply basic over-the-counter medications such as pain relievers. Each one will also have first aid supplies available for minor injuries. If you have a prescription medication, bring it with you and then let your host family know about any medicine you brought and how often you are required to take it.

WHERE WILL I EAT MY MEALS?

You will eat your breakfast and dinner with your host family. You will eat lunch at school. When you are on a field trip, you will eat at an area restaurant. All meals are covered in your program cost.

WHAT AIRPORT SHOULD I FLY INTO?

For our partner schools in the upstate, we recommend the Greenville-Spartanburg International Airport (GSP). For other regions of the state, you may fly into another airport. Please check with the YLI International programs office before booking your flight as we work closely with each partner school to determine the best situation for you. Once you confirm your flight schedule, send a copy of your itinerary to us at international@clemson.edu

WHAT HAPPENS IF I AM SICK OR INJURED?

Medical coverage is provided through your program fee. Host families know which clinics and hospitals to take you to if necessary. Also, there are health personnel at school to assist you with non-emergency medical care.

WHAT IS THE CLIMATE LIKE IN SOUTH CAROLINA?

The climate in South Carolina can be quite different from one part of the state to another. However, winters are generally mild with average high temperatures of 11-17 Celsius while summers are hot and humid with temperatures regularly reaching 30-35 degrees Celsius. The upstate is famous for its warm weather and colorful flowers in the spring while the low country features palm trees and sunny beaches.

WHEN DOES THE PROGRAM END?

Most school partners programs finish at the end of the school day on the final Friday. Then, after a final night of activities and good-byes, students typically fly home on Saturday morning. Final details are arranged through the partnering school.

WILL I GET A TRANSCRIPT OR A CERTIFICATE?

Since there are no grades issued, this program does not include transcript services. However, each student will receive a certificate of completion at the end of the program.

WILL I HAVE ACCESS TO WI-FI?

Yes. Students will have access to Wi-Fi throughout the program so they can contact family back home and complete school assignments.