未来学者项目

常见问题

以下是学生及家长在准备旅行期间的常见问题及解答。如果您有其他问题,请随时发邮件向我们咨询(电子信箱: international@clemson.edu)。

未来学者项目在每年的什么时候进行?

未来学者项目每年1月到8月进行。我们鼓励尽早确定日期,因为有的日期名额很快就填满了。

每期项目有多少学生参加?

具体情况根据具体项目主题。为了保证每个学生都能得到最好的服务,我们通常限制每一期项目15到25个学生。大多数情况下,参加同一期项目的学生来自同一个或者同一组学校。

参加该项目的学生要通过考试吗?

这样的短期项目没有考试。克莱姆森大学与中方学校领导,政府部门或者中介机构共同努力,保证每位参加者能够从项目中受益。

学生需要具备怎样的英语水平才能参加该项目?

我们有英语是母语的学生,也有英语是非母语的学生。我们不需要学生提供英语语言成绩,但是希望每一位参与者在项目开始之前具备基本的英语交流能力。我们的语言协调员将会在学生到达后评估每个人的英语水平,以此确定采用合适的语言水平进行教学活动。

完成该项目的学生会有证书吗?

所有成功完成该项目的学生会收到来自克莱姆森大学青年教育学院颁发的结业证书。

谁负责监督参加该项目的学生?

所有跟学习有关的活动都有课堂老师监督,除此之外,所有的参与学生每天24小时都有受过专业训练的辅导员和工作人员监管。健康和安全永远都是第一位 。另外,我们鼓励所有参与的学校派送一位老师陪同学生。

我该飞抵哪个机场?

我们推荐Greenville-Spartanburg 国际机场 (机场代码:GSP), 因为这个机场最靠近克莱姆森校园以及其他学习场所,而且我们会提供免费的接机服务 。另外一个选择是位于乔治亚洲的亚特兰大机场(机场代码:ALT) 。从亚特兰大机场接机需要额外付费。

南卡州的天气怎么样?

这里冬天平均最高位气温在11到17摄氏度之间,夏天比较潮湿闷热,平均最高气温在30到35摄氏度之间。

参加项目期间有无线网络连接吗?

有的。我们的校园和所有学习场所均提供无线网络连接,为您完成作业以及跟家人和朋友联系提供方便。另外,我们会在项目指南讲座时讲解如何使用电话和其他电子设备。

我需要随身带一些美元吗?怎样兑换美元?

您缴纳的项目费用包括了住宿、饮食、及学习费用,所以您基本的生活需求都包括在内。但是,如果您想购买零食,礼物,或者其他个人用品,您则需要额外的零用钱。 大部分参加项目的学生认为50美元足够两个周的零碎消费了,不过如果您打算给家里的亲朋好友购买礼物,那么您可以多准备一些零用钱。

最简单的办法是在出发前或者途经的机场兑换好美元 ,如果需要,我们这里的工作人员也可以在您抵达后在当地帮您兑换。

我在哪里吃饭?

在校园学习时,您将和其他参加项目的学生一起在学校的餐厅就餐。在外参观期间,您会在当地饭店就餐。所有就餐费用已经包含在项目费用内。

如果参与学生生病或者受伤该怎么办?

未来学者项目包括医疗保险。主校园和其他学习场所都有医护人员,随时可以处理非紧急的医疗问题。

参加未来学者项目我都该带些什么?

国际项目办公室会为学生提供一份参加项目物品准备清单和其他推荐物品。

Future Scholars

Frequently Asked Questions

Sponsors, parents, and students often have questions during trip-planning. We have answered many of them here. If you have other questions, please email international@clemson.edu.

WHEN IS THE FUTURE SCHOLARS PROGRAM OFFERED?

We offer programs from January-August. We encourage early confirmation of dates as certain weeks fill quickly.

HOW MANY STUDENTS WILL PARTICIPATE IN EACH PROGRAM?

It depends on the program theme. To make sure each student gets the individual attention he or she needs, we usually limit the program cohorts to 15-25 students. In most cases, a session cohort is made up of students from one school or a group of cooperating schools.

DO PARTICIPANTS HAVE TO TAKE A TEST?

There is no test required for a short-term program. Clemson works with the school administration, government department, or cooperating agency to ensure that each participant has the ability to benefit from the program.

What is the required English level?

Our scholars come from both English and non-English speaking backgrounds. We do not require English Language Learners to submit any test scores but each participant should already have basic skills in the English language before the program begins. Upon arrival, each participant will be evaluated by our language facilitators to determine the appropriate level of instruction at Future Scholars.

WILL PARTICIPANTS RECEIVE ANY RECOGNITION FOR THEIR PARTICIPATION IN THE PROGRAM?

All students that successfully complete the program will receive a Certificate of Recognition from the Youth Learning Institute of Clemson University.

WHO WILL SUPERVISE PARTICIPANTS?

In addition to classroom instructors present during all academic activities, participants are supervised 24 hours a day by trained counselors and staff members. Health and safety is a top priority. Additionally, participating schools are encouraged to send a teacher with their participating students.

What airport should I fly into?

We recommend the Greenville-Spartanburg International Airport (GSP) as it is close and convenient to the Clemson campus and learning sites. A free airport shuttle is provided to participants using this airport. You may also consider using the airport in Atlanta, GA (ATL). Transportation to and from the Atlanta airport can be arranged for an additional cost.

What is the weather like in South Carolina?

Winters are generally cool with average daily high temperatures of 11-17 Celsius while summers are hot and humid with temperatures regularly reaching 30-35 degrees Celsius.

Will I have access to Wi-Fi at Future Scholars?

Yes, our campus and all learning sites have free Wi-Fi to allow you to complete assignments and contact your friends and family. Guidelines for the use of phones and other electronic devices will be given at the orientation session.

Will I need US dollars for spending money and how will I get those?

Your program cost includes all lodging, meals, and learning activities so you may not need additional money. However, if you wish to purchase snacks, gifts, or other personal items, you may want to have some additional money for spending. Most participants find that $50 USD is enough for the 2 weeks although you may want more if you plan to purchase items for friends and family back home.

It is easiest if you secure US dollars before you travel or at one of the airports you fly through, but International programs staff can also help you exchange money once you arrive.

Where will I eat my meals?

You will eat most of your meals together with the rest of the participants at one of the campus dining facilities. When you are on a field trip, you will eat at an area restaurant. All meals are covered in your program cost.

WHAT HAPPENS IF A STUDENT IS SICK OR INJURED?

Medical coverage is provided through the Future Scholars program. There are also medical personnel on campus and at each of the learning sites to assist you with non-emergency medical care.

What should I pack for the Future Scholars program?

A packing list and recommended items is available through the International Programs Office.